Training Day.

3 Jul

Hello bloggie world!

I’m sorry for the lack of real ‘life’ updates as of late – I’ll get back on track this week!

For now though, let me tell you about my training day on Friday (I know, I know, I still owe you the story of the mountain picnic – keep your eyes peeled for that coming up this week!)

Check out our shadows – cool huh?!

Now if you remember, a few weeks ago I got a new job! 🙂 n In short, I will be living in, and supervising, a boarding house of 40-50 foreign girls, and taking sports lessons aswell as some pastoral care duties. How exciting! 🙂

I officially start at the end of August, but have also signed up to work at the Summer School, which starts in 3 weeks. I figure this will be a good way to get used to the role, and become acquainted with the other staff and my surroundings before term starts.

So, on Friday there was an inset training day for the Summer School. It was an early start – Taunton is about an hour and a half drive away, and the introduction started at 9am.

I went prepared with snacks for the journey and the rest of the day.

Chilli and Chickpea Cakes, and chopped Mango pieces.

Lunch was provided, but it’s always best to be prepared when it comes to food, right?!

I also stopped at a service station with a McDonald, where this time last year I would have most definitely ‘treated myself’ to an Egg and Bacon McMuffin with Cheese – not any more!! 😀

A lot of the day was pretty tedious – Health and Safety talks, Fire Safety and talks on Child Protection, but it was great to meet some others that I will be working with.

Before Friday, the thought of moving tanother town where I don’t know anyone was terrifying (not as terrifying as it will be for these students coming to school in a foreign country I’m sure) but still.. I was nervous!

Thankfully now I am feeling much more reassured, and am actually pretty excited about the whole experience.

We were also given some basic uniform (for sports lessons/excursions/airport transfers). Pretty bright to say the least…..the fleece is so UV that it offended the camera! 😛

But there’s a much more important fact here – the kit that I have been given is a ‘medium’ and it’s pretty big on me!! I love little signs that my hard work is paying off 😀

16 Responses to “Training Day.”

  1. Remy July 3, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Yaaay Sophie! I’m so excited for you! I’m sure you’re going to love it!

  2. Lotus Flower July 3, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Congrats! I was not awarded a Graduate Assistantship for some reason for my upcoming semester. It is just UGH, but I am definitely glad that you are having such a great time and get to meet tons of girls from all over the world. That’s definitely something great!

    • Sophie @ threetimesf July 6, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

      Oh, I’m sorry to hear that 😦 Hopefully you can live vicariously through my blog! hehe. Yeah it should be really exciting, and so glad to finally have a ‘real’ job!
      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  3. Kay July 4, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Ah that sounds awesome. Congrats, and enjoy it!!

    • Sophie @ threetimesf July 5, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

      Thanks! I’ll be blogging about it, so you will be kept well updated! I can’t wait! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bridesmaids. « threetimesf - July 7, 2011

    […] off to work now – Only 10 days left at the office until I leave for my new job! Woohoo, let the countdown […]

  2. Head Clearing. « threetimesf - July 11, 2011

    […] was on my mind, but I felt like it needed clearing! All of this moving house, boy confusion and new job stuff is a lot to have going on in my small head you […]

  3. Done & To Do « threetimesf - July 12, 2011

    […] * Work (boooo – only 7 days left until I leave for my new job!) […]

  4. Housekeeping. « threetimesf - July 15, 2011

    […] Not bad considering the weekend that I had. Next week will be the last weigh in before I leave for Taunton and my new job, and I have 3.5lbs to go to my target weight so time to buckle down – veggies and exercise […]

  5. Hockey Tour Tales. « threetimesf - July 19, 2011

    […] I’m finding it pretty hard to believe that tomorrow is my last day in the office, and on Saturday I start my new job. […]

  6. Catch Up! « threetimesf - July 26, 2011

    […] the time has finally come – on Saturday I moved to Taunton to start my new job. The move was pretty smooth – I have the flat to myself until another girl moves in when term […]

  7. Food. « threetimesf - August 3, 2011

    […] be honest, the thought of moving to a boarding school and having to eat food prepared by someone else 3 times a day for a whole year stresses me out a […]

  8. Summer School’s Out! « threetimesf - August 14, 2011

    […] new to threetimesf, I work in a boarding school for international students. Read more about my role here and some of my experiences thus far […]

  9. Back To School! « threetimesf - August 30, 2011

    […] School starts next week and we have a week of induction starting this afternoon. I only started my new job a few weeks ago, and feel like the summer school was a bit of a dream. It all gets serious as of […]

  10. Where Has The Year Gone?! « threetimesf - June 13, 2012

    […] remember coming to the training day for this new job, and being so nervous about meeting all these new people, and feeling so out of my […]

  11. Training Day, End Of Year Party & Summer School. « threetimesf - July 4, 2012

    […] here. Last Friday we had a training day for the summer school that started this week. I remember atttending this training day last year as a brand new member of staff and I was SO NERVOUS! I can’t really remember why […]

Leave a Reply

