A Letter To My 20 Year Old Self.

13 Sep

Dear 20 year old Sophie,

It’s your second year at university and you are having the time of your life – seriously, you should be appreciating it more.

Your social life is jam packed, but we both know that you should be studying a little more. The party will always be there, but when you graduate with a 2.2 you will wish that you’d stayed in a little more often and read a little more. Don’t panic about the future though – it takes a while but everything turns out okay.

Know that you have the best friends in the world – and you will miss living so close to them more than you ever thought was possible. Take advantage of all the tea breaks, cuddles and hungover breakfasts – that is the stuff that dreams are made of!

Don’t stress about boys – this paranoia you have that all your friends are prettier than you is just that – paranoia. You really should just tell the one that got away that you like him, seriously. He would tell you that he felt the same, but I know you’re scared. Just enjoy having fun for the time being.

Oh, and remember to write to Grandma (and not only because she always sends you beer money). She won’t be around for ever.

With love,

22 year old Sophie x

4 Responses to “A Letter To My 20 Year Old Self.”

  1. Carolina John September 13, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Yes, parties and boys will always be there. and the older you get, the better you will learn to handle both. (hint: all it takes is confidence)

    • Sophie @ threetimesf September 14, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      I’m just about getting that now – but I had no idea a few years ago! indsight is a wonderful thing!

  2. melissa September 13, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Oh this just made me tear up because I would have written the EXACT same letter to myself, calls to grandma and everything. Except when I was 20 I dropped out of school… and maybe I needed it, but I partly wish I would have just stuck with it or something. Cute post Sophie, thanks for sharing. I think I’m stealing this idea from you for a post. 🙂

    • Sophie @ threetimesf September 14, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      Thanks for this lovely comment Melissa! I’m so glad you’ve decided to write your own post too 🙂

Leave a Reply

