On Self Confidence.

16 Jan

I like to think that self confidence is something that you just grow in to. At 22 (nearly 23 – eek!) I am pretty much at the stage where I am happy enough to wear what I like and speak up in front of my friends and family. Work related issues are a little more difficult but I guess that’s natural. I’ve always thought that the best way to give the impression that one has confidence in themselves is to laigh, appear happy, and stand up for what they believe in.

As you can imagine, working in a school, and living in a boarding house with teenagers, I come across a lot of self confidence issues. it’s not something that people will openly admit too – sometimes it’s obvious, sometimes it’s not.

There is one boy who has a very high level of spoken English, very chatty, funny and popular with a solid group of friends. As far as staff and student relationships go, we get on pretty well and he opens up quite a lot. He is copletely in love with one of the prettiest girls in school, and they are close friends. However, he says that she is 10 times better looking than he is, and way out of his league. He gives off this air of being very confident, perhaps a little arrogant, but really it is all just a front and he struggles to do something as simple as speaking up to answer a question in class.

This all got me thinking, and my question to you is – Are you a confident person? When did you develop a sense of self confidence? Is it something you just grow in to or can it be in instilled in somebody?

Have a fabulous day!

Sophie.

4 Responses to “On Self Confidence.”

  1. Carolina John January 16, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    I am very self-confident, and I grew into it in high school. It’s important for him to find the right environment to speak up in. mine was music, really in the chorus. I had a great teacher who really believed in me and I moved up into leadership roles in the group. Not so confident in my other classes, and I had pretty bad grades in everything else. But I learned how to find my comfort zone and that translated into much higher success with girls from other schools or other music-related endeavors.

    Of course this comfort zone turned into friends in college, joining a fraternity, and eventually getting into technology and starting a business. Then getting into athletics something I never had confidence in before I found triathlon. It just takes the right environment.

  2. melissa January 17, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    Great post, Sophie! I think my self confidence wavers on a daily basis. Some days I wake up and I just FEEL good. Other days? Not in the least. I think the vibe I give off during my day totally reflects that feeling I get in the morning, not to mention the effort I put into getting ready. All in all though, I’m a mostly self confident girl, if only just an anxious and flustered one when it comes to receiving compliments, ha 🙂

  3. Alana Winder January 18, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    I think I’m pretty confident, but just like anyone else, there are areas of insecurity. Being married to a wonderful man who always compliments and encourages me helps A LOT. 🙂

Leave a Reply

