On Budgeting…

7 Feb

I am fortunate enough to be in a position where I can live at home and my Mum still pays my keep as it were, and although I don’t earn a fortune I have a job where my food and rent is paid, as well as free gym membership among other perks.

I know what you’re thinking – you’d kill to be in this position?! Yes, I know how lucky I am, but I still have an overdraft and student debts to pay off. Plus, I really want an ipad for my birthday next month so I need to start saving!

I spent too much money on things that I could easily cut down on – a takeaway when there is a perfectly good meal waiting for me in the school dining hall, or a starbucks hot chocolate when I could just as easily make one myself at home. I’m not trying to say that I should cut all the fun out of my life, but I could at least be a bit more careful and start saving some of my wages.

So, I have a plan! When I was at university I used to budget and take my allowance out of my account in cash on Mondays…that way, when I started paying for things on my card again, I knew I had spent too much money for the week.

Starting this week, I vow to pay a little more attention to spending the odd ££ her and there, and will use cash only… Time to get my life in order!

Do you have any budgeting tips?

Sophie

2 Responses to “On Budgeting…”

  1. Carolina John February 7, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    Read up on some Dave Ramsey. We use an envelope system the same way, putting cash into the envelopes each paycheck. Each envelope has a designated amount coming out of each paycheck, and is for a designated purpose (food, clothing, etc). Then I know if I have the cash to go to the movies (entertainment) and have a safe fun designated for things like car maintenance. It works pretty well.

  2. melissa February 7, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Good luck girl! Budgeting is always so difficult for me, but I’ll be focusing on it next month so i’m hoping to get my act together very soon! My best tip for you is to track your spending. When you see where your money goes, that’s when you’re most likely to take action over it!

Leave a Reply

