The Hunger Games.

6 May

I have finally caught up with the rest of the world and started reading The Hunger Games. It’s worked out quite well really, because it fits in with my 101 in 1,001 reading challenge, and is also one of the WBN’s Top 100 books.

(Source)

Anyway, I only really read it to check out what all the hype was about, and didn’t think I’d enjoy it as I don’t really enjoy stories that aren’t real (Harry Potter being the obvious exception here!), but I LOVED IT! Seriously, I can’t remember the last time I read a whole book in a weekend and literally couldn’t put it down. I have ordered the second book, and it is literally too difficult to wait for it to arrive – I am wishing I had just downloaded the Kindle edition!

I don’t want to babble on about the story line for fear of a) boring those of you that have already read it, or b) spoiling it for those of you who still NEED to read it (!!), but it was extremely well written and full of suspense. Suzanne Collins clearly has an amazing imagination!

In short, I think the book takes a really interesting idea that is so ‘out there’ that as a population nowadays, we cannot help but be completely fascinated by it. Collins combines it with sub-plots of friendship, love and the questionning of what we would do if we were in that situation, and causes you to be completely hooked.

Now if only I could speed up the postman so i could make a start on the 2nd one!

What did you think of The Hunger Games?

Sophie

4 Responses to “The Hunger Games.”

  1. Fatty May 7, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Still VERY tempted to get this one.. but I have a huge backlog of books. Must add it on to my Kindle list though 😀

  2. Fran (@freeborboleta) May 9, 2012 at 4:11 am #

    Loved the first book, throughly enjoyed Catching Fire, however, Mockingjay left me a little disappointed to say the least. The series deserved a much better ending :/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Book Chat. « threetimesf - May 11, 2012

    […] The Hunger Games (I feel like I’m blogging about them all the time at the moment! […]

Leave a Reply

