Bucket List – Travel!

9 May

A few years ago I spent a month of my summer holiday travelling around major cities of Europe. I know it wasn’t long compared to some people’s adventures, but it was long enough to instill the travelling bug deep in my soul!

When I’m feeling a bit rubbish I like to daydream about where I would travel if I won the lottery (oh hi guilty pleasure!)

#1. Australia and New Zealand

I know they are one of those standard gap year places where everyone goes, but I’d like to be about to join in with those conversations that my friends have that start with ‘hey remember that night in NZ when we…’

(Source)

#2. America

I’m not really sure where, but there is so much media, and I read so many blogs about American life that I just want to experience it. For some reason, us Brits all want to come to the States and go to a party where they drink from those red plastic cups like on American Pie! Do you guys even have them?! On second thoughts, don’t tell me – I don’t want my trashy movie illusions shattered!

(Source)

#3. Cape Town

I have visited Cape Town before when I was about 12 – I don’t remember it too well but I do remember thinking it was amazing! I loved the contrast between the shanty towns (although seeing them was really sad) on the outside of the city against the wealthy hustle and bustle of the waterfront area. Everybody just seemed so happy and relaxed, as if they lived on holiday!

(Source)

#4. Berlin

Again, Berlin is a place that I have already visited. It was one of my favourite cities because it totally wasn’t how I expected it to be. Looking back, I’m not really sure what I expected, except for it all to be dark and dingy and broken after studyng the war too much! I’d really like to go in December though so that I can visit all the Christmas Markets.

(Source)

#5. France

I have been to France a number of times – My Mum used to work at Brittany Ferries so that’s where we holidayed as kids. I studied French at school, and have been using it a little since working in an international school, but I would really like to opportunity to explore Southern France a little more and spend some time in Paris, soaking up the atmosphere and consolidating my language skills.

(Source)

Your turn – what destination is at the top of your travelling bucket list?

 

6 Responses to “Bucket List – Travel!”

  1. Carolina John May 9, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Yes, primarily in the southern US we party with Red Solo Cups all the time. It’s really the beer inside the cups that brings the joy, but I’ll take it any time it’s an option.

    My bucket list travel is mostly European. Italy, maybe some parts of France, Germany for sure. I also want to visit Hawaii and Alaska sometime, and Australia would be great too.

    • Sophie @ threetimesf May 9, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      France and Italy are amazing – I haven’t travelled too far from home, but I am very lucky to have visted some of the places that I have!

  2. jossiejk May 9, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    No illusions shattered…Americans really do drink from red plastic cups. Especially college parties and any party with a beer pong game going.
    Other than the US since I’m from there, all your choices are on my list too! I guess swap your home country with mine.

    • Sophie @ threetimesf May 9, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      I’m glad! 🙂 Beer pong just doesnt seem the same with boring white plastic tumblers here! haha thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. melissa May 9, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    I think you should come to CANADA!! We have fun here too, you know! 😛 And on the plus side, you have a lovely Canadian friend to show you around (me!!) Haha

  4. Kerri May 10, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    YAY for Australia (only because I live here).

    Personally – I thought New Zealand was the perfect place to go. I went there a few years back and did a tour…I’m half Kiwi and I have lived there but I never got a chance to really SEE the country and experience the things to do there, so when I did the tour it was AMAZING. There’s a bit of everything for everyone – there’s adventure, sport, food, the quite scenic country side and the busy little cities. It’s a remarkable place to enjoy.

    Next on my list is probably the United States or Canada…it will probably be a combination of both – go to one and then the other.

Leave a Reply

