A Tiny Bit Marvellous.

15 May

Okay, I’ll be honest with you guys now, I love Dawn French. I love The Vicar of Dibley, I love her autobiography, ‘Dear Fatty’ (which my Mum bought me as a present – not quite sure what she was trying to tell me there…) and I was very excited to pick up her most recent book, ‘A tiny bit marvellous’.

(Source)

As usual, I don’t want to give too much away because I want you to go and read it yourself (seriously, do it now) but the story focuses on the Battle family, Mum – Mom, 18 year old daughter – Dora, and teenage son – Oscar. Throw in a dog called Poo and I think you’ll agree, you gave the makings of a wonderful story, no?!

In short, Mo is having a bit of a mid-life crisis – unhappy in her marriage, struggling with her job and trying to hold together her crazy family, she just loses it and does something drastic. It is so seriously and honestly written, and I could totally relate to the chaos. Dora is loving life with her friends, ignoring her revision, trying to plan the perfect birthday party and arranging to meet strange men on the internet, whilst Oscar is in love with an older man. A tiny bit marvellous tells their story, and is honest, funny, and so well observed.

I found it a little slow-paced at the beginning, but as the bok progressed and i got to know the characters better, I was hooked. I would totally recommend it, and am now waiting eagerly for Dawn’s (I wish we were really on first name terms!!) next release!

One Response to “A Tiny Bit Marvellous.”

  1. Carolina John May 15, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    that sounds great!

Leave a Reply

