The Book Chat.

17 May

Linking up for The Book Chat again today, over at Sweet Green Tangerine.

This week’s prompt is possibly my favourite so far… Share favourite books from our childhood!

The first book I remember loving is The Very Hungry Caterpillar. I mean, who didn’t love this book?! I even had a finger puppet edition, so my caterpillar was quite literally eating through the pages and fruit as I read (or rather listened..!)

(Source)

I even did a project on this book when I was at university (I studied Psychology with Early Years Education) and made a board game and props to accompany it! I ❤ ❤ ❤ it!

As I grew up, I became hopelessly addicted to Harry Potter. I remember picking up The Chamber of Secrets from the book shelves in my classroom once, and another boy at my table asking whether I had read The Philosopher’s Stone already? I hadn’t, but lookin back it seems completely ludacris to me that there was a time when I didn’t know what order the HP books came in!

Finally, when I was a teenager I studied To Kill A Mockingbird as part of my GCSE English Lit course. This is the first book that I read that made me feel like an adult, and I really enjoyed something that wasn’t either trashy ‘chick lit’, or teenage fiction.

(Source)

Talking of childhood and learing to read, seems like a good time to mention my favourite line from To Kill a Mockingbird and Scout Finch; “I could not remember when the lines about Atticus’s moving finger seperated in to words”. I have no idea why but I remember loving that line when I first read it, and can still remember it word-for-word all these years later!

I don’t plan on having children anytime soon, but I can’t wait to share my love of words and reading and all things book related with some little humans!

Sophie.

3 Responses to “The Book Chat.”

  1. Jessica - Sweet Green Tangerine May 17, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    Atticus would be a great character to talk about next week 🙂 He is one of the all-time greatest male characters. I personally always loved Scout when I read that book.
    I read The Very Hungry Caterpillar to my boys and they love it.
    Thanks for linking up!! Great post 🙂

  2. Megan May 17, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    As I told the other blogger who used Eric Carle, I LOVE HIM. We watched a really cool video of how he did his illustrations when I was in second grade, and we also read another of his books that had two pages taped together. I was curious, so I opened them later when the teacher wasn’t looking and it was NAKED PEOPLE. I think it was Adam and Eve. We were so sheltered haha.

    Also, I love that you included your first “adult” book. To Kill a Mockingbird is definitely one of those books I liked being assigned in high school.

  3. melissa May 17, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    Ah To Kill a Mockingbird! I don’t think that was one of my first “adult” books but it was definitely one of the more serious ones I started by doing. I’ve learned to appreciate those books I had to study in high school SO MUCH more now that I’m older!

Leave a Reply

