The Book Chat

25 May

Aaaaahh, another hectic day – I’m glad I set myself the goal of posting every day this month otherwise I get the feeling I may have skipped this week’s book chat!

Anyway….my favourite male characters.

Let’s just get it out of the way, because we all know this is going to happen….Harry Potter (Sorry, Jessica!) I love everything about those series’, and they will always be a real reminder of my love for reading when I was growing up, and while we’re talking of favourite males, I was a big fan of the way that Rupert Grint grew up!

(Source)

Also on the list is Mr Darcy (I nearly wrote Mark Darcy [Bridget Jones’ Diary] there..not quite the same thing!) from Pride & Prejudice. P&P was one of the books I studied for A-level English Lit, and I have to say that although at the time it was pretty tough going, some of the lines really stuck with my and I have read it (and enjoyed it!) since. Let’s face it, we’d all like a Mr Darcy in our lives!

Finally, as I mentioned last week, I love To Kill A Mockingbird, and I think Atticus Finch is amazing. I love the way that he teaches Jem & Scout decent morals, and is so approachable and a fantastic role model to them. Again, I wish there were more people like him in my life.

“Atticus said to Jem, “I’d rather you shot at tin cans in the back yard, but I know you’ll go after birds. Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ’em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” 

Have a great Friday, everyone!

Sophie

2 Responses to “The Book Chat”

  1. Jessica - Sweet Green Tangerine May 26, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    Glad you found the time to join in this week! I love your list. Atticus Finch is a good choice! I always envision Gregory Peck when I think of Atticus and he’s pretty easy on the eyes so double win. LOL

  2. melissa May 26, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Rooooon!! ❤ One of the literary loves of my life. Is it weird to have a crush on a literary character? I totally do. No shame! Ha 🙂

Leave a Reply

