The Book Chat!

30 May

Today is Thursday, and we all know what that means – book chat day!! Today’s prompt is to talk about your favourite female characters, so here goes…

Rebecca Bloomwood, from the Shopaholic series – Sophie Kinsella.

I read these books when I was at school, loved them, and have since seen a few of the films. If I’m honest, I enjoyed them when I first read them because they made me feel grown up! Not many of my friends were in to reading (at least nothing that we didn’t study at school!) so I felt very grown up! As I did actually grow up though, I loved them because they were so easy to relate too. I mean what 20-something female has not gone on a mad shopping spree and then dreaded opening their bank statement?! Exactly!

Talking of relating to characters, I also love Bridget Jones (Helen Fielding!)

Katniss Everdeen, from The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins.

The Hunger Games is not the sort of book I usually go for, but it was Katniss’ character that originally drew me in. She is so well written and Collins does a really good job of giving us a glimpse in to her world in District 12 before she goes off to The Hunger Games. I felt emotionally invested in her character and was rooting for her throughout the book.

Thanks to Jessica for hosting 🙂 🙂

Woop, it’s official – I have posted every day this month!!

2 Responses to “The Book Chat!”

  1. Jessica - Sweet Green Tangerine May 31, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Congrats on posting every day. That’s a big accomplishment.
    I love Katniss too. She was always my favorite character in that series.
    Thanks for linking up!

  2. melissa May 31, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Katniss is the best and almost made it on my list. Mockingjay kind of ruined her character for me personally, but otherwise she is one of the heroines that will stick with me for a long time. I also LOVED Becky & re-read Shopaholic a couple times growing up. I loved her life, lol! I didn’t read Mini Shopaholic out of fear of ruining the happy feeling I have with those books. I heard not-good things about them 😦

    Hope to see you linking up next week on my blog while I guest-host! Woo!

Leave a Reply

