The Book Chat

8 Jun

As I sit down to write this post, I’m actually feeling really silly – I remember suggesting this prompt to Jessica as I had a really good idea, and can I remember it now?! Obviously not.

Anyway….

This week’s prompt: A book you weren’t expecting to love, but you did.

I am currently reading ‘More Blood, More Sweat & Another Cup Of Tea’, by Tom Reynolds, a London paramedic.

(Source)

It was recommended to me by a friend, and to be honest I only started reading it because it was written in small chunks which were easy to read on the bike in the gym! It’s basically a book of Tom’s blog posts full of stories and anecdotes about working on an ambulance in inner-city London. Not only does he manage to put a positive, and even humerous spin on a lot of situations, I have always beena little obsessed with medical professions and the NHS. yes, I am that person that would rather sit on watching Casualty on a Saturday night than party… I was expecting to feel very indifferent about this book, but have actually found it extremely interesting, and a nice change from my normal reads.

And for good measure, a book I was expecting to love, but didn’t.

Eat, Pray, Love.

I was drawn in to this book because I love the idea of this year travelling experiencing different things and ‘finding yourself’. However, after Liz moves on from Italy (which frankly I was only interested in because we all know I love to talk about food!), I lost interest completely. The story just moved too slowly and there was no way near enough detail and fun for me to be able to live vicariously through the book as I’d hoped. Incase you’re wondering, I didn’t think much of the film either 😦

Cant believe I got totally mixed up between the days and forgot this yesterday 😦 better late than never though eh?!

❤ Sophie

5 Responses to “The Book Chat”

  1. Elle June 8, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    omg I totally had that anti climax with Eat Pray Love… it was tough… I felt SO let down. After she moves from Italy I found it almost boring… sad times… oh and if you EVER read a book… PLEASE read ‘The Other Hand’ by Chris Cleave… seriously… one of the BEST books I have ever read and I can promise you… zero anti climax!!! READ READ READ… Love Elle xoxo

  2. Carolina John June 8, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    I did enjoy the movie of eat, pray, love, but have not gotten the book yet.

  3. melissa June 8, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I never read Eat Pray Love, but I’ve heard that for our age group it’s tougher to enjoy! Ah well, these things happen. Glad you could join in the Book Chat even if it was a day late! 🙂

  4. Jessica June 17, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    I totally felt the same way about Eat Pray Love. I thought she should have stayed in Italy. lol Thanks for participating!!

Leave a Reply

