Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close.

11 Jun

To cheer me up when I was feeling unwell the other night. we rented ‘Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close’, and I LOVED IT. Seriously, it was amazing. If you’ve been reading TTF for a while, you may know that I don’t like to see a film before I have read the book. This book has been on my wihslist for a while now, and I am always worried that I will be disappointed by the film, as is so often the case, but in this instance I do not mind at all. I cannot say enough good things about this movie.

Let’s skip back a bit – If you don’t know, the story tells the film about a young boy who lost his father in the 9/11 attacks, searching all over NYC for a lock that fits the key that he found in his fathers’ closet. It is a real coming of age story as we see Oskar come to terms with his fathers death and learn to live again.

A few things that I enjoyed:

Thomas Horn, who played Oskar, was amazing. I have never seen any of his other work before, but definitely something to look out for. The film is also narrated by 9 year old Oskar, who is a very curious child. As a result, you hear a very grown up and comprehensive childs’ view of the world.

I don’t want to sound at all ignorant here, but in the UK, I can only imagine how terrible it was to lose somebody that you knew in 9/11, and I think (hope) the flashbacks of when the attacks were taking place really do justice to the panic felt all over the world that morning.

The idea of this key, and wanting to find its lock immediately draw you in at the beginning of the film. It is impossible not to be on Oskar’s side, and impossible not to be completely hooked on the story!

I hope you don’t need any more pursuading – I loved it, and I’m pretty sure you will too! Have you seen any good films to recommend lately? have you seen EL&IC? What were your thoughts?

Sophie

3 Responses to “Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close.”

  1. Carolina John June 11, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    I can’t wait to see that one. But Kelley wants to avoid it because it looks too depressing. So you were feeling bad and it actually made you feel better? that’s wild.

    • Sophie @ threetimesf June 11, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

      I think it was more the settling down with a film and ice cream that was the cheering up part! I found it heartwarming, rather than depressing 🙂

  2. freeborboletadesigns June 12, 2012 at 4:41 am #

    LOVE that book and loved the movie! Oskar was perfect in the movie.

Leave a Reply

