Dear Dad

17 Jun

Dear Dad,

I miss you. I don’t like to admit it because somehow it makes me feel inadequate, and as if I can’t take care of my grief alone, but I do.

I feel guilty for taking you for granted so much when you were around and for being so rubbish at keeping in touch.

Words can’t explain how much I missed you at my university graduation, or when I wanted to call you to tell you about my first real job, or how I’m a little scared of weddings because I know you won’t be there to walk me down the aisle when the time comes.

I love you – I’m really making an effort to get back in touch with your family – I hope you know how difficult it is for me, but I really need that link to you.

I miss you everyday – and am waiting to be reunited with you one day – I know you’ll be waiting for me. Happy Daddy’s Day.

All my love,

Your Baby Girl xxx

Leave a Reply

