A Review: Room, By Emma Donoghue.

9 Jul

I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone yet to read so I can’t say much, but ‘Room’ tells the story of a young woman and her son who live in the confinement of a single room and their day-to-day life.

(Source)

I am slowly starting to branch out in my reading choices, away from trashy romance novels and ‘Chick Lit’ (and Harry Potter, of course) so I don’t really have anything to compare this too, but I would definitely recommend it – just possibly not for beach holiday reading!

Let’s just put it out there – this book is disturbing, but that didn’t stop me from being completely hooked! Just when I did think that it was starting to get a little slow and repetitive in the middle, there was another twist and I couldn’t put it down again.

I loved Donoghue’s writing style – especially all the attention that is paid to describing the observations made by a child that has never really seen the world.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book – if you haven’t already – check it out! 🙂

Sophie

2 Responses to “A Review: Room, By Emma Donoghue.”

  1. Jessica - Sweet Green Tangerine July 24, 2012 at 3:27 am #

    I have been wanting to read this for a while now. Glad to know you liked it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Book Chat & Guest Posting. « threetimesf - July 19, 2012

    […] the ‘aaahh, life is moving too fast’ panic – and they were ‘Room’ (Read my review here), and the ‘Hunger Games’ […]

Leave a Reply

