Honesty Is The Best Policy.

30 Jul

I’m going to be straight with you here – I sometimes hide the truth about my workouts and eating habits from TTF. There, I said it.

Recently, I have been eating far too much cake, drinking far too much wine, and lounging around on the sun far too much when I should be exercising. My C25K efforts have pretty much disappeared, and I am quickly falling back in to the trap of thinking that playing a leisurely game of badminton at the weekend will fulfil my exercise requirements for the week.

It’s not that I don’t want to make the effort, and I don’t want to lose a few pounds and get a bit fitter again. Trust me, I really really do. I’m just struggling to find the willpower. I know that that piece of cake on the staffroom table won’t make me feel much better, and I probably won’t even enjoy it that much, but I am constantly tricking myself in to thinking that ‘just one slice won’t hurt’. Maybe one slice wouldn’t, but 20 of those ‘a little bit doesn’t matter’ moments certainly do add up, and they do matter.

So I need your help! Please hassle me, please question me about why I haven’t been working out, and please help motivate me to get out of this slump. I am determined to get 4x45minute sessions in this week – that used to be normal for me so I know it’s do-able.

In 2 weeks time I am going away and will be trawling around European cities all day every day. At the moment I’m tired just thinking about all that walking, and I don’t want my trip to be ruined in any way because I couldn’t be bothered to walk across town. I know 2 weeks won’t make that much difference, but it’s all about attitude, and every little helps right?!

Let’s do this.

How do you motivate yourself when all you want to do is sit in the sun and eat that last slice of cake?

Sophie.

PS – Those of you that follow me on twitter will know that I didn’t win the euromillions the other day – sadface 😦

8 Responses to “Honesty Is The Best Policy.”

  1. Carolina John July 30, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    If I learned anything from having my teenage niece stay with us all summer long, it was that you can’t change lazy people. She wanted to build her endurance up to walk 10 miles to get ready for marching band this year, and she actually walked once. And I had to yell at her to get that to happen.

    Yell yell yell! Get out there and do it girl. Don’t be as lazy as a teenager. ❤

    • Sophie @ threetimesf August 1, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      Haha I think I was that teenager! Thanks for the support, much appreciated 🙂

  2. Jessica - Sweet Green Tangerine July 30, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    I think by just acknowledging that you aren’t happy with your own habits is a great step! We always make excuses for ourselves and never hold ourselves accountable. By posting this, you aren’t letting yourself off easy so that is great!
    You can do it!! 🙂

  3. melissa July 30, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    I totally know that un-motivated feeling- it sucks!! The best motivation is yourself, though, and having a buddy there to help you along the way to push you a bit harder. I think you’ll surprise yourself when you’re in Europe and WANT to do lots of walking to enjoy all the gorgeous sights!! Honestly I wouldn’t stress *too* much about it until your home for your trip. And then? Time to crack down!! 😉 But regardless I promise to try and bug you to keep at it!

    • Sophie @ threetimesf August 1, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      I know, I know, I’ll be fine once I’m out there! I am going to kick the exercise in Septmenber! Thanks Chick, am in the process of replying to your email x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. July Review. « threetimesf - August 1, 2012

    […] – Thank you so much for all your lovely supportive comments on this post the other day – this is exactly why I love having a blog Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. Photo Time – Finally! « threetimesf - August 4, 2012

    […] Lots of nights out with my very best friends (This picture is just one example of why I need the new exercise regime..!) […]

Leave a Reply

