Eurotrip Recap: Athens, Greece.

3 Sep

Eeeekk, I’m so excited to start writing the recaps of my travels and share my photos with you all 🙂

I was excited to get away, but if I’m honest, I felt a little funny for the last few days before my trip. I was restless, worrying about whether I’d thought of and planned everything, nervous about missing my train and connections on the airport (fully aware that there was nothing that I could do!) and was a little upset to be leaving my new friends from the summer school.

Athens was an interesting city. We arrived mid afternoon on 9th August, and spent the first afternoon relaxing and starting to get our bearings of the city.

On our first whole day in the Greek capital, we went to The Acropolis, and on a sightseeing tour.

The view was amazing!

And there is so much history there – Look at this amazing ancient Greek theatre!

Everything had been so well preserved, with very little signs and only a bit of scaffolding to hold it together (rather that than it fell on top of me!)

On our second day in Athens, we explored the city a little more, did some shopping and generally chilled out still trying to get used to the 40’c+ heat! IT WAS BOILING!

We visited the National Gardens and they had a pond full of turtles – how cool is that?!

Our 3 days in Athens went quickly, but I was keen to move on the Croatia and be nearer to the sea – I thought I was about to die of heat exhaustion!

Next stop, Croatia – via Macedonia!

3 Responses to “Eurotrip Recap: Athens, Greece.”

  1. melissa September 3, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Ahhh, Athens! That brings me back to last year, my first trip to Europe, and my reason for falling in love with the entire continent in the first place!

    Sounds like you had fun, but it also seems like just ALL OF EUROPE was verging on over-heating lol!! It’s just crazy what a hot summer it was, I can’t believe it. I’m so happy to be home to slightly cooler temperatures!

    Can’t wait to her about Croatia… I WANNA GO THERE so much!!!!

  2. Dan (@zotwot) September 6, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Wow, that looks great. I’d love to go there!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #22. Visit 5 New Cities. « threetimesf - November 5, 2012

    […] Athens. […]

Leave a Reply

