Eurotrip Recap: Split, Croatia.

12 Sep

As you can imagine after the night train experience (we actually ended up spending 2 nights in a row on the night train and arriving in Split 3 days after we left Athens, but I will spare you all the drama of that!) I was unexplicably happy to be arriving in Split.

This was the view as we walked out of the train station and around the port – the morning light was beautiful.

When I travelled around Europe in 2009, my friend Beth and I had planned every leg of our trip before we even left the UK and were on an extremely tight schedule. We stopped off in Zagreb for a night to break up a journey, and almost every single other person on the train hopped off and straight on to the night train to Split – so I did a bit of research (I had never heard of this place!) and decided almost immediately that I wanted to go there one day – and I am so so glad that I finally made it this summer.

By the time we arrived, we were exhausted, but couldn’t actually check in to our hostel for another 4 hours or so, so we set off exploring this little city.

There is a park on the far side of the city called the Marjan – it involves climing a massive hill but the view makes every sweaty step worth it.

Finally, once we had dropped off our bags and showered, we head out in search of the beach. A few days chilling out in the sun was the main reason for a trip to Split – I was exhausted after working a busy summer school.

That night we decided to sample the Croatian night life – it was so cheap there that it would have been rude not to! I had a great time (so good I forgot to take any pictures!!) but the next day was feeling a little worse for wear so spent another day on the beach, with just a little exploring of the city in the afternoon.

At this point we had one full day left in Croatia, and I want to be able to do it justice with lots of beautiful photos, so I’m going to leave it there for now 🙂

3 Responses to “Eurotrip Recap: Split, Croatia.”

  1. melissa September 13, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    Split looks gorgeous!! I definitely neeeeeed to go to Croatia. On my to-travel list for sure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eurotrip Recap: Boat Trip in Split, Croatia. « threetimesf - September 20, 2012

    […] Last time, I had one day left to enjoy in Split, Croatia. My Mum was kind enough to send me away on my travels with a few extra euros and a note telling me that it was ‘to do something that you wouldn’t normally do’, so on our last day, we decided to take a boat trip out to the Blue Lagoon. […]

  2. #22. Visit 5 New Cities. « threetimesf - November 5, 2012

    […] Split. […]

Leave a Reply

