Eurotrip Recap: Nice, France

17 Oct

I left Milano Centrale for a mammoth train journey that involved a change at the Italian/French border, and was headed for Nice Ville.

I was a little overexcited by the time I got to Nice. I am a total Francophile and was relieved to be back somewhere that I could speak and understand enough of the language to get by in day-to-day life.

It was sad to think that this would be the lost stop on my adventure, but I was happy to be in such a great hostel in an amazing and vibrant city – not to mention the fact that it was 40’c+ and I was staying 2 minutes from the beach!

I arrived mid-afternoon, and after ditching my bag I went out to explore and find the beach – it had been a hectic few days in Italy and I just wanted to chill out.

(This is the best my foot had looked in weeks – it is impossible to keep them clean when you are travelling and not near to the sea!!)

I sat on the beach until about 8pm (it was still warm enough to be sat there in a bikini!) and then wandered back up through the town checking out some of the street art – there were loads of people around.

I was up and about early for my first whole day in this beautiful city (after a great sleep!) and wanted to explore the flower market and find Le Chateau.

It was a beautiful morning. I loved walking around the chateau park and soaking in the view – and the rich colours of Nice.

How beautiful is that?!

chateau pic x 2

And when you finally get to going down the hill on the other side, you discover Nice port! There was some serious money here – such big/posh/expensive boats!

port pic

I spent the afternoon of my first day on the beach (and turned very pink..!) before heading back to the hostel. The food in the hostel was amazing – so I ate there and started chatting to a few people from my dorm, and we ended up spending the night together and going out to experience some of Nice’s bars.

night out pic

See?! So pink!!

4 Responses to “Eurotrip Recap: Nice, France”

  1. psychochicklessons October 20, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    I am so jealous with your Eurotrip!

    following you now , hope you follow back 🙂

    http://www.citybehindthefog.blogspot.com
    http://www.officiallygirlyfied.blogspot.com
    http://www.psychochicklessons.blogspot.com

  2. melissa October 21, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I miss Nice! Although I think it was my least favorite part in my whole trip, I still totally loved it and find myself missing it. Well, in general I just want to be traveling haha! Good times. Loved that flower market!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #54. Go To France. « threetimesf - November 4, 2012

    […] out my reviews of Nice & Cannes […]

  2. #22. Visit 5 New Cities. « threetimesf - November 5, 2012

    […] Nice. […]

Leave a Reply

