On Blogging Pressures.

9 Nov

It’s been a manic few days here, and although I know that my posting schedule has slipped, I don’t want to just post something average for the sake of having something up on the blog.

I find myself making excuses like ‘I don’t have time to upload the photos on to my computer, but I don’t want to post without any photos’ or ‘I only have an hour of free time today and I should spend it relaxing, I don’t have the energy to blog’, and I upset myself because I end up making it sound like a chore, which is not the case. I enjoy writing, I enjoy the interaction with other bloggers and it is definitely something that I want to make time for in my life.

It’s just….I’m busy! We are back at school now, and straight back in to the thick of it with only 5 weeks until Christmas (seriously, where did 2012 go?!) and I feel like I am being pulled in so many different directions to get the most out of this year, but this is exactly why I want to blog – to be able to walk through these thoughts and keep a record of my life.

I imagine not much of this makes any sense, but I just wanted to put it out there!

Do you ever feel pressurised to write? And how do you deal with these guilty feelings?

Sophie.

5 Responses to “On Blogging Pressures.”

  1. Manda November 9, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Hey Sophie! I agree with how you’re feeling. I have so much going on this week and I think about having to post to my blog and I start to get a little freaked out by the pressure I put on myself to post and upload pictures. But I try and realize that if I go a few days without posting no one is going to arrest me or kick me out of the bloggy world 🙂

  2. melissa November 9, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    I’ve definitely felt this pressure MANY times before, but the important thing to remember is that you can either make it a priority in your life and therefore other things (such as free time to read or watch TV) will be sacrificed, or you realize that you just can’t do EVERYTHING and you set up a new kind of schedule. Right now, I’m aiming for a Mon-Weds-Fri posting schedule. It’s so much easier to have those in-between days to post. And if I can’t? No pressure. I know I have so much other stuff going on. You should never write unless you really WANT to. It’s never about quantity! I’m sure you’ll get your balance soon enough though. It’s so tough with all the demands in every day life!

  3. Carolina John November 9, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Yea I get that. Or I’ll get tons of ideas for posts that I want to write and have no time to put them down, then forget them all by the time I sit down at the keyboard. or something happens and I have no time to blog about it until it’s not relevant. I think I will be the last blogger out there to put up halloween pictures of my kids. It will be the post before thanksgiving if this keeps up.

Leave a Reply

