Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars, By John Green

14 Nov

I finally gave in and purchased The Fault In Our Stars after reading blogs going on and on and on about it for months now (you know who you are!), but I am so glad that I did!

(Source)

The book tells the story of Hazel Grace, suffering from terminal cancer, and her relationship with Augustus, who she meets at a support group.

What I loved:

* John Green’s writing style is just incredible. I rarely read a book where I read a line, and a few hours later the quote pops up in my mind in a moment of appreciation, but in this case it happened repeatedly.

* The book tackles important but somehow taboo issues so well. Teenagers suffering from terminal cancer is not something that anybody wants to think about, but we cannot ignore that it happens. Green has obviously researched this in depth, and the use of information was spot on.

* It was so refreshing to read a teenage love story that hadn’t been taken over by cheesy attitudes, or over sexualised as so often happens in the 21st century. I thought the relationship between Augustus and Hazel developed really well, and was a very realistic telling of how sometimes you can’t help how you meet important people or how your lives become completely dependent on one another.

What I didn’t like quite so much:

* I’m not too keen on the name Hazel – that is genuinely the only bad thing that I have to say about this!

Some favourite quotes:

So clever…

(Source)

And my favourite line in a book ever!

(Source)

If you haven’t read this one yet, I highly recommend it! 11/10 from me 🙂

Sophie

2 Responses to “Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars, By John Green”

  1. melissa November 26, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    That quote, “i feel in love like i fell asleep” is one of my absolute favorite quotes about love. It’s just such an accurate feeling. I love JG so much. Ha 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Book Chat. « threetimesf - December 27, 2012

    […] recently read both The Fault in Our Stars (see my review here) and Paper Towns by John Green and loved them both, so I asked for […]

Leave a Reply

