20.11.12

20 Nov

Blog friends, I have a dilemma!

Every year at school, we do a Secret Santa amongst the staff. Last week, I missed the staff meeting where the names were picked, and there was only 1 left for me.

When I unfolded the lime green name tag, it had my name on!!

(Seriously, how awkward!)

So my question is this – Do I come clean to the person organising the game and ask to swap with somebody, so it’s not a secret anymore, or do I just keep schtum and buy myself a present and act surprised?!

Seriously, what are the odds of picking your own name?!! 😦

7 Responses to “20.11.12”

  1. Ericka Clay November 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    I’d probably buy my own gift and then randomly blurt out what I did in front of everyone, but I have a whole load of Catholic guilt going on so I really don’t suggest you do that. Instead, probably discreetly tell the organizer about it. Good luck!

  2. Sophie November 20, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    That’s so funny! What are the chances of that happening?

    I guess if you all have to leave your presents on a table then it wouldn’t be so bad but I guess if you all reveal who you got at the end then that could be awkward!

  3. Carolina John November 20, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    haha, oh what the conundrum. I say get yourself something nice and keep quiet.

  4. Cassie November 20, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    NOOO. Man, that stinks. I’d definitely say something, because I’m sure someone would be willing to swap with you. Unless you’d RATHER buy yourself something. In that case, go for it. 😉

  5. Fran (@freeborboleta) November 21, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    Noo! that stinks 😦 I’d probably go to the person organizing the whole thing and maybe you could do a three way swap of sorts?

  6. Rachel Emmilee November 23, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    Buy yourself something cute, like a nice candle or a bottle of wine to enjoy over the Holidays! Why not!? That way it saves the secret and you get to have fun acting! LOL… It will make for a good story later… “Oh wow! This is so nice! I love it, thank you whoever you are!” It’s really harmless, no guilt necessary… Seriously, how often do you get something you’re really going to enjoy anyway?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012: The Not So Awesome. « threetimesf - December 30, 2012

    […] The Secret Santa Fiasco. For the record, in the end I just went ahead and bought myself a bottle of wine and a super cute luggage tag…! […]

Leave a Reply

