Book Review: MWF seeks BFF, By Rachel Bertsche.

24 Nov

MWF seeks BFF is a real life story, based on Rachel’s search for  new best friend that she could call on at the last minute for Sunday brunch, or to discuss the latest celebrity gossip. She takes it upon herself, after moving to Chicago, to go on 52 ‘friend dates’, one every week for the next year – andso the adventure of a lifetime begins.

(Source)

What I liked:

I read this book after seeing it mentioned on a blog post on making friends – it was recommended (and this is definitely the case) because it was full of ideas for how to meet new people and make potential BFFs.

I have a Psychology degree (Have I ever even mentioned that on here before?!) and I love reading snippets of studies about people and the ways that we interact. Well, this book was full of them! Little notes on social interation, why strong friendsihips are important and how we form relationships.

The shop chapters and extracts about individual ‘friend dates’ made this an easy book for me to read on working days, where I often find myself with only 10 spare minutes.

What I didn’t like:

At times, I felt it dragged a little.

I think the basic idea – of 52 friend dates – could make for a very good novel, and although the psychological aspect was one of my favourite parts of the book, I feel they ruined the story telling slightly.

Overall, I’d give it a 5/10 – not great, but well worth a read to give you that little extra motivation to put yourself out there and make some new friends!

One Response to “Book Review: MWF seeks BFF, By Rachel Bertsche.”

  1. colee112 November 24, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    I agree, I started off loving this book, but I didn’t even make it to the end because it got so repetitive. It’s definately got some great ideas and it was nice to realise how hard even more social people find making friends.

Leave a Reply

