The Book Chat

4 Apr

This is one of my favourite book chat topics for a while – Children’s books!

book chat

I have loved reasding and books for as long as I remember. I remember being stupidly excited about the week that the book fayre was coming to town. I remember picking up my first Harry Potter book off my primary school bookshelf having little idea of the impact that it would have on my life. I remember the books that I was desperate for my friends to read so that we could discuss!

There are a few that stand out more than others…

The Very Hungry Caterpillar! I’ve mentioned this one the last time The Book Chat had this prompt, but it was so special that it even made it in to my final year university coursework!

I’m not sue I’ve mentioned this on the blog before but when I was a child I also used to have a pet Barn Own named Willow. At one of the school book fayres I picked up a book about 3 owls (that’s all I can remember!) but I was absolutely obsessed with it just because it had owls in! Now, 15 years later, Owls are everywhere – I was miles ahead of the crowd!

I also had a personalised book that my Nanny gave me when I was younger – I was a bear and the story was all about me and my friends playing in a dream land (I think…it was a long time ago!)

As I got a little older it was all about The Babysitter’s Club and then The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. We used to have a book track scheme at my local library. Mum used to take me every Saturday morning after my trampolining lesson and those series’ would always be the ones that I sought out first.

Then came Harry Potter. What can I say about those? They were the first (and only) series that I pre-ordered and counted down the days until the release date, I waited eagerly for the movies and would stay up late every night until I finished the latest story. I don’t think it would be an exaggeration to say that JK Rowling changed my life…

What were your favourite books growing up?

Sophie

4 Responses to “The Book Chat”

  1. angieeatspeace April 4, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    I love that you had your own personalized book from your Nana! Very sweet.

  2. Seems April 4, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    I feel as if I am the only one who never read Harry Potter.

  3. Jessica April 5, 2013 at 7:16 am #

    I was always the last kid out of the book fair because I simply couldn’t pick JUST ONE!

  4. Mia @ The Chronicles of Chaos April 6, 2013 at 1:51 am #

    My boys absolutely love The Very Hungry Caterpillar and everything else by Eric Carle. 🙂 And they love Dr Seuss as well, mainly for the colorful pictures and silly words, I think. 😉 Thanks for linking up with us!

Leave a comment