The Changing Ages Of Photography.

23 Apr

Now don’t get me wrong, I love love love my digital camera (I’m even thinking about getting something more advanced) but don’t you miss the days of only having a certain amount of photos, not being able to see themfor a few weeks and the anticipation of picking up your latest snaps from the shop?

I remember when I was about 17, I was more than a little obsessed with a guy that I worked with. We spent New Year’s Eve together with a few of my friends and they took a few pictures of us together – only a few mind, those films were expensive! When we returned to school a few days later I was desperate to see those pics – so much so that I even made a friend run in to town over lunchtime and pay the hightest cost to get them developed in just an hour!

I don’t know what made me think of this, just that with the advances in modern technology all of these little pleasures and moments of anticipation are getting replaced by instant gratification in one form or another. Will there be any simple enjoyment left for our children and the next generation? The sort of pleasure you get from a new computer or pair of shoes that you haven’t been saving for for months just doesn’t seem the same….

2 Responses to “The Changing Ages Of Photography.”

  1. Carolina John April 23, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    Picking up a Nikon DSLR would not be a decision you will come to regret. I’m amazed and kind of annoyed at how many more pictures we take now with a Nikon D40 than we used to take with either a film camera or a point-and-shoot slow digital camera. it’s quite a surprise.

  2. melissa April 24, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    I love this post! I know exactly what you mean. I much prefer the instant gratification of photography now, I think it opens up the doors of possibility to so many people, and there is so much more beauty being captured for everyone to enjoy across the internet. But I do know what you mean -the novelty and anticipation before all this technology came about. I think it’s possible for kids to have this, it’s all in the way that they are brought up! And who knows? By the time I have a kid old enough to understand these kinds of things, digital cameras may be a thing of the past!

Leave a comment